A taste of KubeCon EU 2022

A taste of KubeCon EU 2022

KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2022

For the past couple of years, I've had the opportunity to attend events and conferences online. However, for some reason, I always missed KubeCon conferences and I regret them the most. So I told myself that one of my 2022 goals is to attend KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2022 . Thanks to the Dan Kohn Student Scholarship, I was able to attend it for the first time. Even though, It was virtual, It was as good as an in-person conference; I want to thank the organizers to make that happen. Below, I'll be explaining my experience as a virtual attendee and give you a taste of it.

FTDIAOLX0AI_xoT.jpeg

But first, what is KubeCon?

KubeCon is a Kubernetes conference, to put it simply. Kubernetes arose from a Google internal project named Borg. Google open-sourced Kubernetes in 2014, recognizing the revolutionary extent of their software and resulting in major breakthroughs in the cloud computing sector. These days Kubernetes is essentially a platform for managing and growing containers in the cloud effectively and automatically, and I'm sure you can see the huge ramifications of such a technology suddenly becoming available to cloud customers (or look at our post explaining containers and Kubernetes).

CNCF is one of the nicest communities I've seen, and the best part of such conferences is getting to meet this fantastic CNCF community virtually: I got to meet individuals from Docker, sysdig who had inspired me, people, with whom I had worked for quite some time, and I made a ton of new friends.

Screenshot 2022-08-04 020040.jpg

Sessions

Yes, I'm one of those people who don't pass on Keynote. From the opening remarks by Priyanka Sharma, Executive Director of CNCF, to every student track and lightning talks, I found them to be so wonderful and engaging. Even though Slack was the main channel for interaction, I found the Twitter space a lot more awesome. It's just a personal preference and please take advantage of the slack channels as well. I made a lot of friends over there and talked with many people.

Conclusion

Saying KubeCon could be one of the best, if not the best, virtual conferences you will ever walk into would be an understatement. From networking with developers, founders, CEOs, Dev Rels, and students to actually having a first-hand experience with so many products will help you a lot. If you have enough skills and hands-on experience, you might end up with a job. Oh and finally, I hope you will get some swag to make it more memorable.

Note: I'll add more to this blog and share as much detail as I can every time.